Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Sports Minister attends first ever board meeting for U17 World Cup

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: The Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports, Mr. Sarbananda Sonowal kicked-off the first ever Board Meeting of the Local Organizing Committee of the  FIFA U 17 World Cup 2017 at the SAI Headquarters, New Delhi on Tuesday (September 29, 2015).

In a stirring address, Mr. Sonowal urged all stakeholders of the Tournament to work together as a Team and put their best foot forward to make the event a grand success. He assured the complete support of the Government for the first ever football World Cup in India.

Earlier, AIFF President Mr. Praful Patel welcomed all the delegates and explained the significance of the Tournament for the overall development of Indian Football. He also outlined the support necessary from all quarters for successfully staging the Tournament.

He was followed by Javier Ceppi, Tournament Director, LOC FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017, who updated the Board on the current progress of the preparations.

Secretary MYAS, Mr. Rajesh Yadav, DG SAI MR. Injeti Srinivas and Joint Secretary MYAS, Mr. Onkar Kedia then put forward the Central Government’s perspective on the preparation after which representatives from Goa, Kochi, Guwahati and Kolkata updated the forum on the current progress of work at the various venues.

Also present were Mr. Kushal Das, General Secretary AIFF; Dr. Shaji Prabharkaran, FIFA Development Officer, Mr. Subrata Dutta, President, IFA and representatives from SAI, Sports Ministry and the Local Organizing Committee of the FIFA U 17 World Cup 2017.

The FIFA U 17 World Cup, 2017 is the first ever FIFA Tournament to be held in India and will be staged in September–October 2017. Six venues, Delhi, Mumbai, Goa, Kochi, Kolkata and Guwahati have been initially shortlisted as venues for the event.


Johnson announces 23-member squad for AFC U-19 Qualifiers

AIFF Media Team

NEW DELHI: Head Coach Lee Johnson has announced his list of 23 Players to represent the Indian U-19 National Team in the AFC U-19 Qualifiers which are slated to kick-off from October 02, 2015 in Al-Ram, Palestine.

The Indian colts have been clubbed in Group C alongside hosts Palestine, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Afghanistan in Group C. India play their first match against Palestine on October 2. Thereafter, the Colts face UAE and Afghanistan on October 4 and 6 respectively.

The 23 member squad has been churned out from the Indian U-19 Team which finished runners-up in the SAFF U-19 Championship and from the Indian squad which is currently participating in the FAM-FRENZ Asia Champions Trophy 2015.

Head Coach of the Indian U-19 National Team, Lee Johnson said: "The Players are showing confidence going into the Competition. At the same time we acknowledge the fact that we are drawn in a competitive group and no game will be easy.”

"We have to work hard, maintain our focus and concentrate on one game at a time,” added the former Chelsea and Crystal Palace Academy Coach.

The 23 member Indian squad will be leaving Indian shores from Delhi at 4am on September 30.

The 23 member list follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Sayak Barai, Rafique Ali Sardar, Sukhdev Shivaji Patil.

DEFENDERS: Shahabaaz, Kapil Boro, Nishu Kumar, Gursimrat Singh Gill, Mohd Sajid Dhot, Sarthak Golui, Amey Ganesh Ranawade, Lalthakima.

MIDFIELDERS: Lalramzauva Khiangte, Malsawmzuala, Bidyananda Singh Ningthoujam, Rakesh Oram, Vinit Rai.

FORWARDS: Suman Sarkar, Milan Basumatary, Moinuddin, Daniel Lalhlimpuia, Muhammed Ashique Kuruniyan, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Mawihmingthanga.

HEAD COACH: Lee Johnson.
Post a Comment